Many new drivers in Texas as well as drivers who are relocating to Texas from other states will find it beneficial to learn more about Texas auto insurance.
In Texas, all drivers are responsible for any damages they cause on the road. This includes damages to their own property as well as damages to another driver’s car and other property their vehicle may have hit.
The state also requires that drivers pay for medical expenses of other people if they cause an accident.
Texas Liability Insurance for driver 2022
|Texas Liability Insurance for driver – pict via pixabay|
The state law requires that all drivers carry proof of insurance that includes 30/60/25 liability coverage. This coverage includes liability of up to $30,000 per injured person, or $60,000 total per accident.
It also provides for up to $25,000 in coverage for property damage per accident. It should be noted that this coverage pays for damages to other people’s vehicles and property as well as their medical expenses.
The minimum state law requirements for coverage do not cover damages to your car, and they do not pay for your own medical expenses related to an accident.
While state law only requires a Texas liability insurance policy that includes 30/60/25 coverage, liability insurance in Texas is often not the only coverage purchased. Many Texas drivers today will opt for coverage also pays for their own accident costs.
This may even include rental car reimbursement and towing expenses as well as medical costs. Many drivers also will opt for additional liability insurance Texas so that they do not have to pay out of pocket for the accident-related expenses of another driver.
Rates can vary significantly from insurance company to insurance company, so comparing rates online can help Texas drivers save money on their coverage.
Texas liability coverage
Proof of minimum Texas liability coverage is required to be carried at all times when a driver is behind the wheel.
It will be required to be shown when you get pulled over by a police officer or when you have a car accident.
Failing to carry adequate insurance can result in a monetary fine initially, as well as a monetary fine coupled with the loss of a license for future penalties.
If you cause an accident while uninsured, you could face more significant fines or even be sentenced to serve time in jail.
Drivers in Texas may also be required to show proof of insurance at other times as well. Proof of insurance is required when a vehicle is inspected annually, when registering or renewing a vehicle registration, and when obtaining a new driver’s license or renewing a driver’s license.
Drivers can easily purchase car insurance. Shopping online for rates quotes is a fast and easy way to find a great price on coverage.
Coverage can be purchased and proof of insurance can typically be obtained very quickly. [ Kanalmu ]